George Washington’s Socks

A typical Michigan winter. -14 degrees outside and plenty of ice and snow. Fortunately for me, I haven’t had to go out too much in it this year, but believe me, I’ve been dealing with winters like this my entire life. I’ve suffered my fair share. Driving the treacherous Michigan roads to work at 5 a.m. In the dark. Gripping the steering wheel so tightly my knuckles turned white. Praying to God the entire time to just get you to the job site alive. Good times, good times.

This year is different for me. How did I get so lucky? I get to teach my son from home. We can wear our pajamas all day if we want. We can spend the day snuggled up reading together. For the last week we have been reading about George Washington. Perfect for this time of year to not only celebrate his birthday, but as we learn about the Revolutionary War, it is easier for us to imagine the bitter cold our Patriots endured. Marching through the snow and ice, many with no shoes and very little clothing. These young men and boys endured deplorable conditions so we could have our freedom from King George. I believe this history lesson has much more impact when it’s frigid outside as opposed to learning about the crossing of the Delaware on a warm spring day.

There’s almost a feeling of guilt for the luxurious way we live now. We take for granted our warm boots, hats, gloves, and the heated seats in our “horseless carriages.” We have the freedom to speak our minds, right out in the streets, without fear of being hung at sunrise. Unfortunately, I can see our freedoms slowly and surely being taken away. We are becoming a nation who chokes itself on political correctness. I fear a time is not too far in the future when our sons and daughters will be once again be fighting in our streets, cold and starving. Fearful of death for speaking the truth.

I highly recommend the books GEORGE WASHINGTON’s SOCKS, as well as GEORGE WASHINGTON ‘s SPY by Elvira Woodruff. Great for kid’s who are ready for chapter books. They are time travel books, adventurous and realistic without being too gory. For older kids and adults, I recommend GEORGE WASHINGTON’S SECRET SIX, THE SPY RING THAT SAVED THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION by Brian Kimeade.

Let’s not forget what our ancestors endured for us to be free. Teach your children that freedom is not free. It wasn’t then and it’s not now. It never will be.

IMG_3708-1

IMG_3711-1

IMG_3709-0

IMG_3710-0

Leave a Reply

